top of page
  • Writer's pictureLara

That time I went a little overboard

Who is ready for Christmas???

I love Christmas, always have…but this year I’m even more impatient than usual to start decorating, probably because 2020 has been such a tough year that I need the magic of Christmas more than ever! However, I promised my husband to wait until after Thanksgiving before filling every surface of the house with reindeers, elves, garlands, bells and fake snow…so what can I do in the meantime to satisfy my desperate need for holiday cheers? Making Christmas cards, of course!

I had recently purchased the Bold Merry Christmas stencil from the Make Merry release by Simon Says Stamp, and I was very looking forward to use it. I started by stamping on Neenah Classic Crest Smooth Solar White 110 lb different snowflakes from Gina K. Designs Holiday Wreath Builder set with Versamark watermark ink, and embossing them with detail white powder from Recollections Signature. Then I sprayed the stencil with Pixie Spray and glued it to the card stock. I did some ink blending applying a generous amount of GKD Blue Denim and Wild Wisteria inks with Ranger mini round ink blending tools, in order to obtain a pretty dark background. I removed the stencil and cut the card with a 6’ stitched square die from Pink&Main. I liked the final result but I found it a little dull, so I tried to add some shine by gluing the square on white foiled card stock.

It looked better, but something was still missing!

So, I cut two Daphne snowflakes (again from the Make Merry release by Simon Says Stamp) out of silver glitter card stock and added them around the words, together with some silver sequins.

Now we are talking!

Unfortunately, I didn’t stop there, and I had the insane idea to use the teeny-tiny pieces (the “negative spaces”) I removed from the snowflakes to add some more sparkle to each letter of Merry Christmas and also to some of the embossed snowflakes!!

It was time-consuming and tedious, but I liked the final project much better, so I guess it was worth all the effort…what do you think?





Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page