top of page
  • Writer's pictureLara

Tag on a Card

The theme of the ongoing November Monthly Mix Challenge at Gina K. Designs blog is about making a tag on a card using red and white colors. I spent some days thinking about what I wanted to make and this weekend I finally had the time to lock myself in my craft room and get the job done!

I used the biggest tag from GKD Decorative tag die set in both projects.


For the first one, I cut the tag out of GKD Red Velvet card stock. I stamped on it the tree from the Christmas Silhouettes set and a sentiment from the Holiday Wreath Builder stamp set with Versamark watermark ink and then embossed with Detail White embossing powder. For the background, I wanted a sort of printed look but I didn’t have anything suitable in my stash, so I created my own by stamping “Wishing you joy” from the Christmas Silhouettes set multiple times on GKD White heavy weight card stock, using Red Velvet dye ink. I glued the tag on the background and added a small white ribbon, then I mounted everything on a Red Velvet A2 card. To add a little more interest to the card, I stamped the smallest Poinsettia from the Christmas Silhouettes set on white card stock, using Red Velvet dye ink, then I fussy cut it and added the flower on the white ribbon on top of the tag.


For the shaker card, I stamped on Judikins embossable acetate the same tree from the Christmas Silhouettes set, a different sentiment and few snowflakes from the Holiday Wreath Builder stamp set with Versamark watermark ink and embossed with Detail White embossing powder. I cut a square frame out of heavy weight white card stock using 2 different sizes of stitched square dies from Pink&Main, afterwards I attached the frame to the acetate and removed the overhanging borders. Finally, I add some foam tape to the border and put white glitter in the shaker window, then glued it to a Red Velvet card stock. I cut the tag out of GDK White heavy weight card stock and then I stamped on it different greeneries from the Holiday Wreath Builder stamp set, using Red Velvet, Fresh Asparagus and Jelly Bean Green dye inks. I arranged the branches to look like a mistletoe bunch. For the sentiment, I stamped “Wishing you joy” from the Christmas Silhouettes stamp set on GKD White heavy weight card stock, using Red Velvet dye ink, then cut it to a very small strip and added to the tag with foam squares. I glued the tag next to the shaker window on the card stock and finished the card by adding a small red ribbon on the top of the tag.

Which one do you like most? I can’t decide!






Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page