top of page
  • Writer's pictureLara

Gina K Designs September Release

It’s time for a new Gina K Designs release and today I’m featuring the stunning Thankful Heart designed by Hannah Drapinski. It’s a huge floral stamp that fits perfectly a 5x7 card and, while a couple of the greetings are meant to be used in this season, most of them are perfect all year round.


For the first card I stamped the image on watercolor paper using Gina K amalgam Obsidian ink, making sure to dry the image very well with my heat tool before adding the inks. I smooshed several GKD dye inks (Fresh Asparagus, Grass Green, Wild Dandelion, Lemon Drop, Honey Mustard, Peach Bellini, Sweet Mango, Tangerine Twist, Tomato Soup, Red Hot, Kraft) on my glass mat, spritzed them generously with water and used the diluted inks as watercolor paint. I let the first layer of color dry almost completely, then I sprayed some more water directly on the card and allowed the colors to run freely. After a couple of minutes, I dried the paper with my heat tool and then started over from the coloring. I repeated the same process multiple times until I was happy with the result, then I dried the paper with the heat tool but not completely, so when I stamped some of the greetings around the edges using Kraft ink, they turned out kind of smudged because of the wetness of the paper. I just added a few black and white gouache splatters and finished the card by adding a sentiment, embossed in white on black cardstock. The panel was trimmed to 4 ¾ x 6 ¾ and mounted on a 5x7 card.




For the second card, I stamped the floral upside down on an A7 panel of GKD white 120lb heavy weight cardstock using Versamark watermark ink and embossed using GKD Detail white embossing powder. To create the blended background, I used my gel press and GKD inks Sweet Corn, Sweet Mango and Tomato Soup. I added a sentiment, embossed in white on black cardstock, trimmed the panel to 4 ½ x 6 ½, and glued it on a 5x7 card.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page