top of page
  • Writer's pictureLara

Birthday card and gift wrapping idea

A few weeks ago, our friends invited us to a small birthday party for their son, who was turning 2. I had in mind to make a card to go with the gift we bought for him, especially because I was itching to try my new “happy” die from Simon Says Stamp. However, being a relentless procrastinator, I didn’t work on the project until the night before the party…but I'm glad to tell you that I got it done in time!

For the card, I cut some basic cloud shapes from scrap heavy weight card stock and used the negative spaces to create a sort of sky-looking background by lightly applying Gina K. Designs Sea Glass ink with Ranger mini round ink blending tools. Then I used an old Sizzix Thinlits Die, that I got at Hobby Lobby a few months before but never tried, to cut baby jungle animals from colored card stock by Park Lane. Then I glued the animals on the background and added some grass-shaped strips in two different shades of green. The cloud and the grass dies were purchased from Etsy. I cut the outline of the chunky Happy die designed by Cathy Zielske for Simon Says Stamp from Neenah Classic Crest Smooth Solar White 110 lb 3 times and glued them together to add more dimension, then I filled the negative spaces with letters cut from different shades of blue card stock. I wasn’t totally satisfied with the finally result, so I added some Ranger Glossy Accent Glue to the letters to give more shine. For the sentiment, I stamped “birthday” from a MINC Collection by Heidi Swapp with Versamark watermak ink on a small strip of blue card stock, then embossed with white detail powder from Recollections Signature. To finish the card, I glued the panel to an A7 white note card.

To complete the project, I also prepared a panel to add to the wrapped gift.

I stamped hot air balloons and clouds from Hampton Art Looking Up set with GKD Black Onyx ink, then colored with Crayola pencils and blended with Gamsol. I cut the balloons and clouds with the matching dies that come with the stamp, while the letters for LEO (the name of the birthday boy) were cut from patterned paper from the Whimsical collection by Paige Evans with Adore Alpha die set from Pink Fresh Studio.










Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page