top of page
  • Writer's pictureLara

A happy little accident

There is a funny story behind these two cards…

In my previous posts I shared a couple of cards I made for the Mod Squad Challenge...but I didn't say that those were my second attempt!

So, the first time I read about the Challenge, it was late at night and I was in my bed, lazily browsing through my social media while waiting for my daughter to stop calling me every 10 minutes (you know, the usual “I’m thirsty, I’m hungry, my belly hurts, I need a hug”). For some reason (I was probably more sleepy than awake), my brain decided that the Challenge was about using the word “thankful”, so the day after I started planning some designs using my new “thankful” die from Gina K. Designs.

First, I made the Christmassy card, using GKD wreath builder and GKD inks in the colors of Red Velvet, Fresh Asparagus and Christmas Pine. The branches and greenery were from the Holiday Wreath Builder and Take Care stamp sets, both by GKD. Then, I cut the wreath in two and added a belly band to the card, with the word “grateful” die cut from GKD Red Velvet card stock. I glued everything on a black card stock panel and I eventually mounted it on a Red Velvet card.

A couple of days after I made another card, using Friendship Blooms, a collaborative stamp set from Hero Arts and Gina K. Designs. I stamped the flowers and the sentiment on purple card stock from Park Lane with Versamark watermark ink and embossed with detail white powder from Recollections Signature. Then I added some clear sequins for a little sparkle, and I glued the panel to a white heavy card stock A2 card from GKD.

Pleased with the result, I took some pictures of the finished cards and I opened the Mod Squad Challenge Blog to upload my photos…only to realize that all the other cards had the word “grateful” on them and not “thankful” like mine!

Oh well, like Bob Ross said, “We don't make mistakes, just happy little accidents”, and now I have 2 more cards to tell my friends that I'm very thankful to have them in my life!




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page